Uncategorized

Just Pull Over and Get Out

elderlymandriving500

I tell you what: I am going to be so good at being retired. Some people say that they will be nervous about it or won’t know what to do with themselves. Some keep working into their 70’s. But, me, I’ve already got every day of the first three years of my retirement planned out. I can’t wait to have no deadlines, no schedules. I’ll be happy just to have the time. Your thinking and approach to life will change. Take driving for instance. Up until you retire, driving somewhere is basically just an impediment. It’s the thing that stands between you and being where you want to be, doing what you want to do. Now, I’m sure there are those who really enjoy their vehicle and love driving. But most of us just need to get to work on time or pick up the kids, navigate traffic and other drivers. And then there’s retired people. You ever get stuck behind an obviously retired person that’s driving 10 km below the speed limit? This drives me bonkers. I don’t want to speed exactly but I can’t stand being behind somebody who’s going 70 in an 80 zone. I used to get so angry I’d be yelling “the OTHER pedal, Gramps!” or “just pull over and get out! You can’t do this”. Then it occurred to me:  these old drivers are retired. What do they care? They got nowhere to go and all the time in the world to get there. No clock ticking, no time restraints, just put some Bennett on and cruise. There’s no rush so where’s the fire? So, next time you’re behind someone going too slow, before you speed up and tap their rear bumper – like I used to –  remember it could be Gramps and he ain’t in no rush. Speed kills and he’s half-dead already.

Standard

Leave a Reply

