Uncategorized

When the Rain Came

God, how I remember
when I held your hand
as we walked out in the sunlight
along the summer sand

and the days went by like magic
under skies so blue and bright
and your lips they kissed me sweetly
when the stars came out at night

the days that you were here
my life was all so clear

but my world came falling down
and I fell down to the ground
when the rain came
the sun just lost it’s glow
more than you’ll ever know
when the rain came
I was all alone
I felt so far from home
when the rain came

I used to wake up with a smile
my first thought would be of you
and I was lost in everything
that you would say and do

and when the weight came down
you were standing next to me
and I knew that I could make it
you were all I had to see

with you by my side
my eyes just shone with pride

but I lost control
of my heart and soul
when the rain came
the tears in my eyes
the clouds in the sky
when the rain came
I was all alone
I felt so far from home
when the rain came

God, how I remember
how I used to be
I felt that I had someone
and my eyes could plainly see

but now I just feel empty
left alone with all my fears
now I just feel broken
with my heart lying in it’s tears

and now I stand alone
with pain like I’ve never known

I remember saying goodbye
and how I saw you cry
when the rain came
it comes down like a ton
on me, the lonely one
and the rains come

and now I’m at the end
without my closest friend
and the rain comes down on me

(from “Part Five: An Album Full”)

I shouldn’t say this but this one is good. As I read it, I can really feel the cadence. “It comes down like a ton / on me, the lonely one”. And the last line. Pretty sad, this one. It’s nice when you feel like you nailed it.

Standard

Leave a Reply

